3 honored as CSUN’s distinguished alumni

Dec 27, 2019 xlrpdwto

first_img AD Quality Auto 360p 720p 1080p Top articles1/5READ MOREBasketball roundup: Sierra Canyon, Birmingham set to face off in tournament quarterfinalsCurb, chairman of Curb Records, was elected lieutenant governor in 1978. He served one term, then returned to the recording industry. Billboard magazine recognized Curb Records as the Country Music Label of the Year in 2001. Ejabat is co-founder, chairman and chief executive officer of Zhone Technologies, a telecommunications equipment company based in Oakland. Before co-founding Zhone, he held senior management positions with Ascend Communications, which Lucent Technologies bought in 1999. Last year, he pledged $1 million to CSUN’s college of engineering and computer science. Kim Labinger, a fourth-grade teacher at Thomas Edison Elementary School in Glendale, was one of 44 educators nationwide to earn the 2006 Disney Teacher Award. Disney announced the awards Monday to coincide with National Teacher Appreciation Week. Stressing creativity in the classroom, Labinger taught elements of writing by having her students write their own scripts for the Mozart opera “The Magic Flute.” Then the students acted out the scenes to emphasize voice, character development, dialogue and vocabulary enrichment, Labinger said. California State University, Northridge, gave three former students the Distinguished Alumni Award at a banquet at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel. The school’s highest alumni honor went to retired FBI official Grant Ashley, music-industry executive and former California lieutenant governor Mike Curb and telecommunications executive Mory Ejabat. The award is for “those whose achievements place them at the summit of their professions,” the university said. Past honorees include actor Cheech Marin and astronaut Scott Horowitz. Ashley was the FBI’s executive assistant director of law enforcement services, the bureau’s second-highest post. After becoming a special agent in 1980, he investigated white-collar and violent crime cases in Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., and Chicago, then oversaw operations in San Diego, San Francisco and Las Vegas. He retired from the bureau this year. For her efforts, Disney will give Labinger $10,000 and a trip to the Disneyland Resort at the end of July. Her school got $5,000. Also for teacher appreciation week, Wal-Mart and Sam’s Club recognized several local teachers with gifts and $1,000 prizes for their schools. In partnership with Phi Delta Kappa International Professional Education Association, each Wal-Mart and Sam’s Club store and distribution center picked one outstanding teacher from a school in its neighborhood. From the San Fernando Valley, the winners were Donald Tautkus of Kennedy High School, Mary Stepter of Monroe High School, Karen Weimer of Morningside Elementary and Tracey Evans of Wilbur Avenue Elementary. From the Santa Clarita Valley, the winners were Gaylynn Evans and Pamela Skaggs of Pinetree Elementary, Judith McGoldrick of Our Lady of Perpetual Help and Andrew Rude of Tesoro Del Valle Elementary. From the Antelope Valley, the winners were Genel Terrell of Tierra Bonita North Elementary, Karen Aguirre of Lincoln Elementary, Marybeth Cook of Littlerock High School, Illene Carson of Summerwind Elementary and Greg Flemming of the Palmdale School District. The winners will be able to apply for Wal-Mart’s state Teacher of the Year honors. The state winner will get $10,000 from Wal-Mart and an automatic entry into the national competition. The national winner gets a total of $36,000 for his or her school. Twelve local middle and high school students who earned the Clarice Chaplin music scholarship from the 31st District PTSA will put on a concert at Walter Reed Middle School auditorium Monday evening. The pianists are Howard Chen of El Camino Real High School, Sam Kinsey of Nobel Middle School and Sharon Lee of Chatsworth High. The violinists are Shana Kogan of Van Nuys High School, Denise Leung of Sherman Oaks Center for Enriched Studies and Esther Lin of Granada Hills Charter High School. The flautists are Christine Fu of North Hollywood High School and Sarah Kim of Lawrence Middle School. The trumpeter is Avneesh Kohli of Reseda High School, the saxophonist is Yarmila Cruz of Van Nuys High School, the drummer is Lucas Fehring of Millikan Middle School and the vocalist is Cramisha Simpson of Kennedy High School. The PTSA. has been awarding the $350 scholarships to talented secondary school students from the San Fernando Valley for 50 years. The money comes solely from donations from the PTSA and the community. The Children’s Scholarship Fund donated more than $2 million in scholarships to more than 1,500 students at a luncheon at St. Patrick’s Catholic School in North Hollywood on Thursday. Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, Cardinal Roger Mahony and actor Will Smith were among the honored guests. The fund has helped more than 70,000 students get a private school education since its founding in 1988.160Want local news?Sign up for the Localist and stay informed Something went wrong. Please try again.subscribeCongratulations! You’re all set!last_img

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *